Okkervil 'Black Sheep Boy - 3xLP Anniversary Box Set'

Product Information //

Black Sheep Boy is Okkervil River s most ambitious and cinematic record yet, a love story and adult fable that evokes the mature songcraft of Leonard Cohen s New Skin for the Old Ceremony, the sophistication of Scott Walker s Scott 4, the shambling slow-motion bravado of Neil Young s On the Beach, and the raw nerves and trick effects of Big Star s Third/Sister Lovers. It also occasionally echoes Lou Reed s Transformer in that it is actually the band s most playful and confident record by far, delighting in linguistic games, scrapping all caution and reserve, reveling equally in sheer pop, lacerating rock and roll, and straight-up country weepers. The most fully-realized and wildly adventurous Okkervil River record yet also introduces into the modern folk bellwether s traditional palette of mandolin, pump organ, steel guitar, Wurlitzer, strings and horns such previously foreign elements as children s keyboards, digitally-manipulated field recordings, and dirty splatters of distorted guitar. The longing might be keener, but the fun is funner this time around, too; somebody has spiked the drinks, and there are at least two bullets in the Russian roulette chamber.

LP 1
1. Black Sheep Boy
2. For Real
3. In A Radio Song
4. Black
5. Get Big
6. A King And A Queen
7. A Stone
8. The Latest Toughs
9. Song Of Our So-Called Friend
10. So Come Back, I Am Waiting
11. A Glow
LP 2
1. Missing Children
2. No Key, No Plan
3. A Garden
4. Black Sheep Boy #4
5. The Next Four Months
6. Another Radio Song
7. A Forest
8. Last Love Song For Now
LP 3
1. Goodnight Irene
2. I'm In Love With Susan Smith
3. See See Rider
4. Knoxville Girl
5. Satan Is Real
6. Good Liquor Gonna Carry Me Down
7. Willow Tree
8. Moonshiner
9. Oh, The Wind And Rain
10. What are They Doing in Heaven Today
11. Trouble in Mind